Skip to content

CD of the Month (July 09)

13 July, 2009
Joni Mitchell Blue (1971)

Joni Mitchell Blue (1971)

This is  a nostalgic call for me.  I bought this album (vinyl) in 1971; I have no idea where it went.  Those of you who know of this Canadian musician hopefully will agree with me: Joni was/is exceptional.  Now a new generation ought to get to know her work.

Blue is her third album and, after her Woodstock album, probably her best known work.  Some of her classic songs are contained in this album: “A Case of You”, “My Old Man”, “Carey” and my favourite “All I Want”.

Her lyrics are intriguing and beguiling with honesty.  In 1979 she said in a Rolling Stone interview, “The Blue album, there’s hardly a dishonest note in the vocals. At that period of my life, I had no personal defenses. I felt like a cellophane wrapper on a pack of cigarettes. I felt like I had absolutely no secrets from the world and I couldn’t pretend in my life to be strong. Or to be happy. But the advantage of it in the music was that there were no defenses there either.”

For those of you who are guitarists, listen to Joni Mitchell’s open string tuning. She was a master of it and it enables her to accommodate different keys that enhance her unique vocals.

As I said, nostalgia gripped me and I went to iTunes to find this album from my past.  It is still a gem and, what with more life experience, I find her words and sentiments all the more poignant.  So, let me encourage those of you 38 years old and younger to listen to her!  Now to listen again to Crosby, Stills and Nash!

From → CDs to consider

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

